Monday, 30 December 2013

Legend of the Dreamer

I don't know what it is about these books, but I'm reading them over and over again. It could be that they are beautifully written. The poetry of Davids words are extremely captivating, and will pull you into a new world that you never knew existed. It could be that David leaves you wanting more, not just at the end of each chapter, but at the end of each page. Light of the Moon is a real page turner, and it's been a while since I found a book that could hold my attention as well as this book here. I never had the chance to get The Witch's Curse and The Warrior's Code, but that was only because I don't believe in the whole kindle. It doesn't mean that I didn't go out and buy a e-device, because I did and it turned out to be the wrong one. So I went against the one thing that I truly believe in just so I could read David's stories. Thankfully he put those two and a new story in paperback version titled Shades of the Stars.
Now I sit here patiently waiting for Shadow of the Sun to be released, so I can finally rest easy to see what David has done with the characters I have grown to love. And because I want to know if someone makes an appearance in this novel. David knows who I'm talking about, but I will not mention their name. 
The Legend of the Dreamer series is a duet of books about a boy, a girl, and a dark curse that binds them both to a dangerous destiny. There is kissing and blood and secrets. There are twists on ancient Greek dream mythology and on the constellations above. The series is best read in the order of publication. The first book in the series, LIGHT OF THE MOON, was released on November 6, 2012. An e-format short story called THE WITCH'S CURSE was released on December 18, 2012. Another short story called THE WARRIOR'S CODE will be out in e-format in early 2013, and the sequel, SHADOW OF THE SUN, will be out early in 2014.

But before we get into this series let us get to know the author a little better. If you do not already follow/stalk him on facebook and twitter, I personally believe that you should. 
You can also follow his blog, which also let's you know what he's been up to, what books he enjoys reading and when to expect more novels from him.

David James writes books about stars and kisses and curses. He is the author of the YA novel, Light of the Moon, the first book in the Legend of the Dreamer duet, as well as the companion novellas, The Witch's Curse and The Warrior's Code. A Legend of the Dreamer anthology, Shades of the Stars, was released July 2013, and includes the exclusive novella, The Enchanter's Fire. The final book in the duet, Shadow of the Sun, will be released in late 2013. Living in Michigan, David is addicted to coffee, gummy things, and sarcastic comments. He enjoys bad movies, goofy moments, and shivery nights.

                      LIGHT OF THE MOON (Book 1)
"One night long ago, a constellation disappeared and fell from the sky in the form of a boy. Secrets are being kept in the sleepy town of Lakewood Hollow, Colorado. Nothing but pools of blood and dripping words are left where bodies once were, and no one but Calum Wade seems to be worried. Life unfolds in shades of red for Calum, until a mysterious girl named Kate Black enrolls at his school and everything changes. Suddenly a dangerous world of dream demons, elemental enchanters, and blood witches unfurls before Calum. He learns that the stars have forever held his destiny, and that the constellations above are much more than what they seem. As Kate and Calum sink deep into a paranormal war, they realize that an ancient prophecy might hold the answers they seek. But life is not so easy for Calum, and he can feel his heart beat faster whenever Kate is close. Worse, Kate's blood holds a dark secret even more dangerous than the war between the demons and enchanters. Soon the two find that there are worse things than loving someone you shouldn't. For Calum and Kate, even love and the fiery power of stars may not be enough to break a curse as dark as the blood that binds their destiny."

                                                       THE WITCH'S CURSE (Book 1.1)

"Before Kate met Calum in LIGHT OF THE MOON, Magda met Samuel.

Magda cannot stop her heart from running rampant with the beating drum of love. Whenever her eyes find Samuel, she can feel the pull of strings so vividly alive against her heart. But for Magda, love goes against fate; her destiny as a witch forbids her to need anything but the dark binds of magic. Soon, the witch's curse begins to call to Magda. To deny her love for Samuel would be unthinkable, but to defy her destiny would be impossible. Before the curse can consume her, Magda must decide between Samuel and destiny, and her heart may beat too savagely for anyone to stop.

THE WITCH'S CURSE is an e-format prequel short story in the Legend of the Dreamer series."

"Live by the Code. Die by the Code.

In the magical world of the Order, Warriors fight for justice, freedom, and peace. Becoming a Warrior is an honor given to few, and twelve-year-olds Zackery Solts and Kate Black will do anything to have a place among the elite. 

Zack and Kate must complete against eighteen others and pass three deadly tests of courage and skill. Above all, they must be strong because while the dangers of the tests are unknown, one thing is perfectly clear: not everyone will survive.

THE WARRIOR'S CODE is an e-format prequel short story in the Legend of the Dreamer series."

                                                                       SHADES OF THE STARS (Book 1.5)

SHADES OF THE STARS is a Legend of the Dreamer paperback anthology. Including THE WARRIOR'S CODE, THE WITCH'S CURSE, and an exclusive story called THE ENCHANTER'S FIRE, this collection features playlists, essays on the Order, exclusive interviews, secrets, and a special look at SHADOW OF THE SUN. This edition also includes an exclusive teaser at author Helen Boswell's MYTHOLOGY: THE WICKED.

Available in paperback and Kindle formats.

SHADOW OF THE SUN (BOOK 2) Being release early 2014.    

"Destined for love, Calum and Kate will do anything to be together. With Kate trapped by a curse in Ashfall, Calum must find a way to save her before she is lost to dark magic. Before she is lost to him and the truth of their love is gone forever. Even if it means sacrificing himself, Calum will choose to keep Kate safe. 
A Warrior for the Order, Zack prides himself on being stoic and strong. As a Warrior, he never cries and never hurts. He does not love. But underneath Zack’s Warrior heart, love beats true. And when he finds someone who will finally catch him, Zack finds himself choosing to fall even if true love kills him. 
Though the heart never lies, everyone has a little darkness in them, and soon shadows begin to rise against the light. As deadly magic consumes their world, love may not be enough to save them all. Because even though sometimes being brave just means falling in love, one choice can destroy everything. This time, no heart is safe."


 The giveaway will more than likely be the special edition of Light of the Moon, if not it will be the original.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment